Save Deleted Items in owner’s mailbox

I’m using an Exchange account and also have a Shared Mailbox configured in my Outlook. All works fine except that when I delete messages from this mailbox, the items are moved to my Deleted Items folder instead of the Shared Mailbox.

How can I configure this?

Save Deleted Items in Owner Mailbox buttonUnfortunately, contrary to saving Sent Items in the owner’s mailbox, you can only control where Deleted Items of a Shared Mailbox or Delegated Mailbox  are saved via the Registry.

For this, you’ll need to add the DelegateWasteBasketStyle value;

Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\<version>\Outlook\Options\General
Value name: DelegateWastebasketStyle
Value Type: REG_DWORD
Value: 4

When the key is set to 8 or when the key is absent, the messages you delete from secondary mailboxes will end up in the Deleted Items folder of the primary mailbox. With the value set to 4, the messages will end up in the Deleted Items folder of the mailbox you deleted it from.

Administrators: Deploy via Group Policies

Group Policy Editor buttonThe same setting is also controlled via the following Group Policy;

User Configuration-> Administrative Templates-> Microsoft Outlook <version>-> Outlook Options-> Delegates-> Store deleted items in owner’s mailbox instead of delegate’s mailbox

MAPILab
Use "4PM76A8" to get a discount when ordering!